The Wonder Child – Chapter Nine – Wonder Princess

02-03-15_8-10 PM

And that’s where Dad left off, and he told me that it was now my turn to write the rest of my story. But, I was confused, perplexed even. Although, I was more confused by the fact that I was in my party clothes instead of my everyday wear.

“I’m not exactly sure what it means to be a Wonder Child, or I’m not even sure if I’m up for it.” I confessed to my dad, but he just closed his eyes and shook his head several times.

“You are my daughter, you are Athena’s daughter. You are capable of anything and everything, if you put your mind to it.” He assured me, but I wouldn’t even know the first thing when it comes to ‘training’ to be a Wonder Child. Where would I start? What skill would come first?

However, Dad being dad, he had a plan.

02-03-15_8-10 PM-2

“I’ve divided your skills as a child into four categories. Social, Mental, Motor and Creativity. You can just take your pick and we’ll get started on it right away. Each Skill comes with it’s own plan on how to master it.” Dad had thought about this very carefully, and it was amazing to see how his brain worked. If I’m going to become a Wonder Child, I want a brain like his!

So many things were going through my mind as I was making the decision. How difficult the skill might be, how amazing it might be, which one was the most important for me to learn. It was so awesome, but my mind had finally came to a decision, and it was sure of it. This skill was the one I needed the most if I was going to survive later on in the world.

“Let’s start with Mental.” I answered, and Dad led me downstairs and out into the front patio. I was then presented with a chessboard, and he told me to sit down.

02-03-15_8-16 PM

“This is the game called Ch-“

“Chess.” I bluntly said, I hate being told things I already know. It annoys the plumbob out of me. Dad slowly nodded, and he set up the chessboard.

“Do you know how to play?” Dad asked and I shook my head. I think he forgot that I had jumped out of a crib just a couple of hours ago? Nevertheless, Dad taught me all the rules and some of his basic techniques to Chess, and I felt so empowered. I CAN CONTROL THE CHESS WORLD MWAHAHAHAH.

After a fair amount of Chess Games, I still wasn’t able to beat Dad at Chess. He said not to worry about it too much and he gave me three skill points.  He said to think of this as training, like you would do in Scouts, Beavers or Rangers. I liked it, I liked being around Dad, he always knew the best things to say. He left me to ponder some moves while he walked inside to talk to Mom.

I came in minutes later to find them still talking, so I sat down and read the book that was on the table. “Game of Groans”, that sounds good! Yeah…no. I read the first couple of pages and put it away because it had WooHoo in it. Mom says that WooHoo is the gateway to Hell for Children & Teenagers.

I managed to overhear Mom & Dad’s conversation quite clearly. I’m quite the spy.

02-03-15_8-25 PM

“Our daughter is growing up to be quite the charming lady.” Dad mentioned to Mom, I cheered to myself as I am at least doing something right in this entire Wonder Child thing.

“I agree, but you’re spending all the time with her! A mother and her daughter need to bonding together to ensure a healthy relationship!” Athena pointed out, I don’t know if it was the hair or me being born, but Athena has changed quite a bit, although, she still retains that little bit of wackiness now and then.

And here it is!

02-03-15_8-35 PM

No no. Mom is not lost, she’s trying to read me a story to help with my Mental skill. It’ll also help me be a Whiz Kid. Although, I did find it really amusing that she was using hand gestures to help tell the story, it felt like I was in the story. Like I was in a story.

02-03-15_8-37 PM

Me and Mom came closer and she read me the story, it was the same one that she read during her pregnancy about that queen and baby prince who had to go into hiding. The baby prince had to grow up and train to become a champion who would take back the kingdom and restore peace to all.

“And this Prince was full of Wonders. Hey Leliana, you could even say he was a Wonder Child.” Mom said to me, and I nodded in agreement really fast.

“Yeah! I can totally be like that prince, saving people from danger with my awesome skills. Maybe that’s why they need Wonder Children like me, to stop the crime in the world!” I kind of liked the idea of becoming a badass (sorry Mom if you’re reading this!) Warrior Princess who can kick some serious butt! (sorry again Mom!)

It could be like;

 THE ADVENTURES OF THE WONDER PRINCESS.

Yes! I like that very much. In big, block capital letters too! And so, I began my journey as The Wonder Princess. First of All, I needed a base of operations. Luckily, I had a my dollhouse to store my secret information inside! To the dollhouse I went!

02-03-15_8-55 PM

I decided to hide the important information in the red room, since red is for important things… right? In the yellow room, I kept my day-to-day tasks in there and in the green room, I kept my scorecard of my skill points inside. Dad would be so proud of me. If I was going to become Wonder Princess, I needed to be able to talk to anyone and anything.

“Hey Doll. What do I call you?” I said to the doll which was clearly alive. I had decided to name the doll, ‘Amelia’ since it had a nice ring to it.

“Hey Amelia! You’re the bodyguard of Wonder Kingdom, you have to keep my secret files safe from what’s… out there.” And I looked out to the rest of Willow Creek.

02-03-15_8-55 PM-2

It’s very ominous out there, but I’ll have to keep watch of who walks past our house… we don’t want any spies in Wonder Kingdom! But, it was getting dark and I was sent to bed by Mom and Dad and that’s when I heard a voice in my dream.

02-03-15_9-09 PM

“listen to me. i am here to help you through this.”

I don’t know what this voice could be talking about, nor what I needed help through. I’m going to assume it was a mean mental telepathy trick from the boy next door. He’s been giving me the evils since I was born, but I will get my revenge.


The next morning, I awoke to check on my Wonder Kingdom from my window, it was still intact which was a great sight to see.

02-03-15_9-18 PM

Also, I had began my work in the Wonder Kingdom as the Alchemist, making and experimenting with potions. I managed to make a few happy potions for the sad residents of our kingdom, but that was about it. Although, I did fail a few times… and accidentally cause a fire.

I went down afterwards to eat breakfast, where I was joined by Mom who was reading a book from the Government, it was telling her about the regular emails she has to send over or they’ll have to visit themselves to check up on me. Mom grabbed the air by the side of her and held the air tightly.

02-16-15_4-00 AM

“Mom… whatcha doin’?” I asked, worried about my mother’s sanity.

“Imagining what it would be like to be on a motorcycle.” She replied and she gently placed her arms back down to the ground. She giggled and then Mom placed a clear plastic bottle with sticks poking out of it in the center of the table.

“What’s this?” I ask, I had never seen this before in my life. It was weirdly coloured too, but it wasn’t foreign… I don’t think.

“A potion, drink it and be focused for today’s school day.” Athena giggled as she waddled off to work.

“Ok.” I grabbed the potion and pulled it towards me.

02-16-15_4-04 AM

Breathe in the sweet smelling fumes, drink it.

02-16-15_4-04 AM-2

And I will begin my official journey.

16 thoughts on “The Wonder Child – Chapter Nine – Wonder Princess

  1. ARoseInBloom says:

    I love the analogy you used with the Dollhouse. Super creative! I’m really in awe of this story! Finally added it to my Feedly so I will actually be informed when there are updates! Woot!

    But seriously…you’re a great author and I love how you’re pulling all of this together!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jes2G says:

    I wasn’t sure how I was going to like her narrating this, but I love it! It’s a really nice touch. I like how she’s made an adventure out of it…dollhouse and all! Poor Athena. Will she ever be normal again? Well…wait…when was she ever normal? lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. natashamcb says:

    I love this story! You are such a talented writer and I couldn’t help but keep reading all your chapters in one go!

    I look forward to seeing what the narrating wonder princess does next. I am also curious about what the government’s real motives are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a response! :)

