The Wonder Child – Chapter Twenty-Seven – Preparation for the Worst

With only a month left until my eighteenth birthday, I had decided to put all of my focus in on gaining more skills and attempting to try and calculate my Wonder Child rating. Although, being a Wonder Queen might not work out for me as well as I wanted to, because being so busy, I might not be able to run my Kingdom the way I want to. Oh well, I still want to find my King.

Dad came home from work soon afterwards, and had made his way to the kitchen, right where I was doing my homework.

04-05-15_3-30 PM

“Hey Princess.” Dad smiled, he placed a glass of Zzz juice right beside my orange juice for me. I drank it in an instant, and then threw the cup in the bin. I’ve been addicted to those drinks lately, and as soon as this whole thing is over, I think I’m going to have to get counselling to stop drinking it. However, it didn’t stop me from noticing one mistake Dad made.

“Dad. I’m a Queen now.” I stated while continuing to do my homework, and Dad scratched his head.

“Ah, right. Sorry, my memory isn’t good these days.” Dad said, which was true because he forgot which twin was which. Even if I’m a Wonder Queen, anyone could tell that Dad didn’t have much time left.

04-05-15_3-30 PM-3

“Hey you. When I’m gone, you can’t be ignoring people like this. When an elder talks to you, you have to at least look at them!” Dad had also been trying to lecture me about responsibilities and becoming the ‘man’ of the house when he’s gone. Since he couldn’t really entrust it to Alistair or Demetri, he wanted me to make sure everyone was in top shape when he’s gone. Although, the thought of it made my head hurt so much.

“Okay Dad.” I then turned my head to face him, he was thinner than usual. Or should I say, he has become thinner,  which also scared me just as much.

04-05-15_3-32 PM

“So Dad. Could you tutor me in some logical ways soon? I think I’m really going to need it if I want to get into Rocket Science. And plus, if I’m going to want to grow a Cowplant soon, I’m either going to have to go to space or fish for it. Although, I’m scared I’m not going to have enough time to grow it. Since I’ve almost mastered playing my violin, I think this will be of great use to me.” I explained. I have so many plans for the future, and I only have a small amount of time to do it in.

“Of course, although if you want to grow the cowplant, you should do it after we come back from Granite Falls. I’ve learnt that this lot is too small for the renovation I want, and we’re moving to a new lot.” Dad showed me the size of the lot with his phone, and indeed it does look bigger than where we currently live.

“Ooh, nice!” I said.

04-05-15_3-33 PM

“Listen.” Dad started off, “I may not have a lot of time left, but I intent to spend all of this time with you, Athena and the boys because I’m not sure when the next opportunity will be. And, I also need to make sure you’re awa–“ Dad had stopped for some reason. I’m not sure what he was going to say, but he had said it was nothing afterwards.

“You’re so sweet, I know why Mom loves you so much.” I giggled, but Dad flung his hand forward and shook it off.

“No she loves me because I’m the best in bed.” Dad said. Ahh, Dad must always win the wrestling games then? I mean, I kind of witnessed the game which resulted in Alistair & Demetri.

“Ah. Okay.” I muttered. Although, Dad soon pulled me into a hug which could be one of the last hugs I ever get from him.

04-05-15_3-34 PM

“I love you, so much.” I said to Dad and he squeezed me tight.

“I love you too, to the point that I’d do anything to protect you and this family.” Dad replied, and I then knew this is what it’s like to be a parent, it’s something that changes you both inside and out, and something that you can never prepare for.

Dad left me to go watch the TV, but soon afterwards Mom returned from work and also came near me. I thought it was going to be the same story all over again, but I guess it was different. Although, my face showed that I thought it was the same.

04-05-15_3-55 PM

“You’re not dying are you?” I said nervously, and Mom shook her head.

“Of course not! I just wanted to ask if you wanted to go for a hair appointment as soon as we get back from Granite Falls. We can also take the opportunity to update our wardrobes as well. It’ll be a nice mother-daughter trip. We can probably get Belle Menteur to babysit since your father will probably be at work.” Mom asked and explained and I loved the idea.

“Perfect! It’ll give me time to also learn my art skills, since there’s so much colour that goes into clothes and hair as well.” I smirked, I guess there are advantages to learning to being a Wonder Child.

04-05-15_3-55 PM-2

“Although, on a more serious note, I think you should talk with Dad.” I suggested, I think this would be the perfect opportunity for Dad to explain to Mom the current situation and probably give much more information that he did to me.

“Really? I guess I’ll go talk to him now then, I’ll talk to you later. Kisses.” Mom said before wondering over to the couch to join Dad on the sofas. I managed to stay close enough to them to hear their entire conversation.

04-05-15_3-57 PM

“Leliana says that I should talk to you, her voice seemed nervous around the subject. Is there anything you want to say to me?” Mom’s voice also seemed pretty nervous, but serious at the same time.

“Listen, don’t get worried or anything.” Dad begun to say, “My time is coming soon, the doctors have confirmed it. My age is catching up with my body and it’s starting to fail, slowly I won’t be able to do much and it’s too late to stop it.”

Mom looked at Dad in a way I’ve never seen before. Her eyes looked desperate for him to live, but also at the same time, happy that he was going. I think she doesn’t want him to bear the pain if she were to die first, and so she’s glad that he’s going. Although, it didn’t stop the tears from flowing out and it didn’t stop Demetri from hearing everything as well.

04-05-15_3-58 PM

“Listen, it’s fine. I’m fine with leaving.” Dad tried to explain to Mom.

“You’re fine about leaving, but what about me, what about the kids?! Are they fine?! No!!” Mom shouted at Dad, but he still tried his best to calm her down.

“Okay, I know, I’m sorry. But, let’s spend all the time we have together. We need to make this time precious.” Dad calmly said and soon Mom managed to calm herself down.

04-05-15_3-59 PM

“Don’t look at me, I’m hideous.” Mom said and Dad burst into a fit of laughter.

“You’re beautiful even if you have make-up smeared all over your face.” Dad complimented and Mom looked at him with a huge smile.

“You know just what to say to a woman.” She giggled and they both got up and walked near my drawings. Dad stopped Mom and touched her face.

04-05-15_4-00 PM

“Even if this is the last time, I want to remember how your face feels.”

04-05-15_4-01 PM

“How warm your embrace is.”

04-05-15_4-02 PM

“How much you love it when I read from my book of poems.”

04-05-15_4-02 PM-2

“And finally, when we seal it all with a kiss.” Dad finished off, and Mom almost burst into tears, but she sealed them in for Dad. They both then left for bed together, where I think they had another game of wrestling.

However, in the morning when I left for work, I saw Mom crying while taking care of her garden. I guess even the strongest woman has her weakest moments.

04-05-15_4-17 PM

13 thoughts on “The Wonder Child – Chapter Twenty-Seven – Preparation for the Worst

  1. Jordan says:

    Nooo. 😥 They’re such a great family unit, and the twins are still kids! I’m so not ready for Orion to die yet. Then again, I’m never ready for the ‘first gen’ to die. (My eternal struggle with legacies…ugh)

    Orion and Athena have such an amazing relationship. One of them had the Soulmate aspiration right? If not, whatever, they’re still ‘Soulmates’ to me. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • SummerFalls says:

      Yeah, Athena had the Soulmate Aspiration. And when I checked on my save game today to quickly take screenshots of their new house, the twins only have 2 days until their birthday! So you will see the twin boys as teens 😀

      Like

      • Jordan says:

        Yay! At least they won’t be little kids when the ‘rents pass on. Teens are //somewhat// more resilient, I guess. xD And YAY — HOUSE UPDATE 😀 I love building way too much. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • SummerFalls says:

        Building is so awesome! Plus, the boys will hopefully look handsome as teens, so that Leliana can at least give them a goodbye.

        Like

Leave a response! :)

