The Wonder Child – Chapter Twenty-Nine – Sunset

Orion’s point of view

04-05-15_5-47 PM

Leliana wanted to buy a really really small pool, and so I told her this is all we could afford due to the contractors already taking the money to rebuild our house and everything. She was happy with it at first, but then she soon got bored of it and left it alone afterwards which is great for me because now, I’m the only one that uses it!

It’s really awesome, I can just swim around a little square and it’d still count as swimming a lap wouldn’t it? See? I’m clever!

“Orion? Come inside the kitchen now!” Athena shouted towards me, and so I climbed out the pool and walked inside where I sat down at the table where I was greeted by my lovely wife.

04-05-15_5-52 PM

“What do you want? I was busy swimming laps in our pool.” I chucked but Athena put her finger on my lip.

“That’s ‘our’ pool? It’s the size of our kitchen sink! You keep swimming like that and you’ll die in there. Mark my words.” Athena grumbled, although she could never stay mad at me for too long, we were destined to be together.

“Okay, okay. But still, isn’t it really coo-“

“Orion!” Athena snapped at me, and I immediately closed my mouth so that she could begin speaking, “You only have a couple of days left, and you’re wanting to spend them lazily lounging inside a 1×1 pool?”

I noticed her tone, and immediately knew that she wasn’t joking.

04-05-15_5-52 PM-2

“I know, I know and I’m sorry. It’s just that I’ve always wanted to know what a swimming pool feels like.” I admitted and Athena gasped. It’s true, before this all happened I came from a really hot place where water was hard to find. As a result, there were no swimming pools.

“You’ve never been in a swimming pool?” She questioned and I confirmed her thoughts.

“Never.” I whispered. It was embarrassing enough having Athena know, but knowing her it’ll be all around town by morning.

However, knowing that I’ll be dying before Athena hurt me the most and so, by turning on my irresistible charm, I wanted to ask Athena something.

04-05-15_5-52 PM-3

“Hey baby.” I smirked at Athena, she blinked multiple times before she thought about replying.

“Hey? What do you want to say?” Athena awkwardly replied, I placed my hand on her wrist as I looked up at her.

“We should go and watch the sunset together, you know, like we used to do sometimes if I got home early enough from work.” I suggested, and Athena smiled as she nodded.

04-05-15_5-52 PM-4

“Yes! I am pretty hard to say no to.” I giggled.

“No, you’re not. But I love it when you think you are.” Athena laughed more than I did. Afterwards, we both rose up from our seats and walked up the stairs, through our bedroom and out towards the balcony, where we sat together on the bench that was provided for us.

04-05-15_6-06 PM

“The sun should be setting soon, I would change but I feel too lazy to get up.” I said, and Athena patted and rubbed my back multiple times.

“It’s okay, I don’t want to to leave me any sooner.” Athena muttered and I pulled her a tiny bit closer to me where she then asked, “Have you thought about what you’re going to say to the boys about you leaving?”

“I thought the boys already knew, or Leliana told them about what’s going to happen.” I replied and she looked back at me with a worried expression.

“But, they’re so young, how are the–“ Athena started to say but I stopped her, I didn’t want her to worry too much about the future.

04-05-15_6-06 PM-2

“Stop. Let’s just talk about us for the time being.” I suggested and Athena looked the other way.

“Fine.” She said reluctantly before turning back to face me. She pulled a smile on her face while speaking to me from then on, it was always nice to see her smile, even when I don’t have that much time left I think it’s important that I cherish that smile.

“Look, you have to be strong for Leliana, Alistair and Demetri. You need to be there for them when they need you because I won’t be there anymore. You can cry over me sure, but you need to still be a mother when you can.” I told her, Athena will probably be tested on her skills as a mother after I’m gone.

“Stop it.” Athena muttered.

“What?” I asked.

04-05-15_6-07 PM

“Stop talking like you’re gone already!” Athena cried out. I do admit I think I was acting a bit out of line. I’m not entirely okay about my dying but it’s the ones that will be left behind that will have the greatest effects of it and me speaking as if I was already dead wasn’t helping Athena.

“Oh, I’m really sorry Athena. I didn’t mean to make it sound that way.” I tried to comfort her, but the tears had already strolled down her face. But she soon looked up and at the sun, which was lowering slowly into the horizon.

04-05-15_6-07 PM-2

“Why do I get the feeling that this will be one of your last sunsets?”Athena whispered to herself, I don’t think she meant for me to heard it so I didn’t answer the question. But, I had already answered the question to myself.

I pulled Athena even closer to me and I held her with my forearm. I wanted to be able to tell her everything, one last time.

04-05-15_6-11 PM

“You’ve been an amazing wife and Mother, Athena. I hope that you know that and take that with you until you join me soon.” I smiled, and Athena touched my hand as well.

“Well, I did take you, Orion Frenlore, to be my lawfully wedded husband.” Athena replied, and I continued.

“To have and to hold from this day forward.”

“For better, for worse.”

“For richer, for poorer.”

04-05-15_6-11 PM-2

“In sickness and in health.”

“Until death do us part. Actually, scrap the last line, we’re married for eternity!” I finished off, and I looked down at Athena’s wedding ring and the sapphire that sparkled from it. Athena laughed at what I said when I finished off the vows.

“Gosh, I can’t help but love you.” She laughed and she placed her one arm on my shoulder.

“Come here.” I said and I pulled her into a kiss.

04-05-15_6-11 PM-3

And that’s where the sun set on another Frenlore day.

14 thoughts on “The Wonder Child – Chapter Twenty-Nine – Sunset

  1. lovesstorms says:

    First, the chapter was super sweet and I loved it.

    Second, one of the funniest chapters, at least to me. I loved, loved the mini pool! I’m made me laugh, you clever dude!!

    Third, I thought this line was awesome as well. “where we sat together on the bench that was provided for us.” Courtesy of Joel. Lol

    Last, I did enjoy the little post wedding review. I didn’t know what else to call it, but it was nice to see that. Though they had to get married, they’ve come to love each other. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • SummerFalls says:

      Hehe, thanks Lo ❤
      I think I needed to make this chapter all of these elements since the worst was about to come to this family and I had to relax them and make them feel that it's okay for him to be gone 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a response! :)

