The Wonder Child – Chapter Thirty-Seven – Mother Knows Best

The first thing Mom saw when she walked into the living room was Dad’s Ashes. The renovators treated them with great care and placed them in a place where he could receive much love. At that moment, Mom stared right at the ashes and descended into tears. I think she begun to remind herself of all the great memories we’ve all had with him.

15-04-11-15_1-45 PM

I rose up from the white sofa I sat on and moved closer towards Mom. I embraced her and walked her over to the sofa where she managed to let it all out on my shoulder. I had become her shoulder, and her pillar.

“Thanks Leliana, I really needed that.” Mom wiped away her tears, as she gestured herself upright.

“No Mom, thank you. You’ve always been the strong one and you’ve always tried to do things to give me and the twins the greatest life. I’d expect you to let it out sooner or later.” I replied. Mom is one of the strongest people I’ve ever met, and her optimism always keeps me going.

13-04-11-15_1-33 PM-3

“On the topic of loved ones, have you found anyone special?” Mom smiled eagerly at me. To be honest, with everything that’s been going on I haven’t had the time to process my feelings. However, I knew that there was someone.

“Yeah, I think I have.” I blushed and looked down. Mom took me by the shoulders and started to shake me forwards and backwards.

“Tell me who it is! Can I meet them?”

“His name is Devan Holmes. I’ve been talking to him for a while through my Pen-Pal account that I set up at the start of my teenage years. He is a little older than me, but I think we could make it work.” This was the first time I was sure of my feelings.

Mom laughed. Is that good?

12-04-11-15_1-33 PM

“So you like a boy you’ve never even met? Sounds romantic! I bet you’re like, ‘Hi there handsome man. You look so dashing! I’ll send you music, bla, bla, bla.’ How did she even…?

“You’ve been reading my emails!” I was lost for words. My own mother invaded my privacy and has been reading everything that I’ve ever sent.

“Well, it’s not that I read them. Your father did. He wanted to see if he could send your pen pal an email before he left but I guess it was too late.” Mom glanced at the urn and then focused her eyes back on me. Dad really wanted me to be happy and he was going to extreme lengths to make sure of that… it was a useless effort. I’m going to be taken away, and there’s nothing that can stop tha–

11-04-11-15_1-32 PM-2

“Mom, do you think it’s possible if–“ I wanted to say more but I then noticed the many cameras present throughout the house. I better be more cautious. And then came my robotic voice. “Mom, you should come with me outside. I want to start Gardening. You should help me learn.”

Mom seemed to sigh at my poor acting, but she knew what I meant. She also began to play along with my little scene.

“Okay Darling, I’ll be out in ten minutes so try and get some seeds from the vegetables in the kitchen and I’ll be there.” I rose up from my seat and left towards the kitchen. However, I could hear Demetri walk past me and sit down on the living room sofa where I then heard Mom speak in a low whisper.

10-04-11-15_1-26 PM

“That girl is going to need all the help she can get.” Well, that is true but she could have said that in front of my face!

Mom soon joined me outside where we both began to tend the garden together.

“Do you think it’s possible for me to tell Devan about everything? He might be worried about what I sent him last time.” I looked up at Mom and she seemed to be thinking about it carefully.

“I wouldn’t recommend it since you’d literally be giving everything away and telling someone everything that could potentially put their life at risk. However, if you feel that you want to, you’d either have to send it hand-written or through a different IP address so the Government can’t track it.” Mom is seemingly good at this stuff. I wonder what she used to do before she came into this Wonder Child Program.

09-04-11-15_12-57 PM

“The maid seems to be doing good work.” I smiled, but Mom looked even more cautious.

“He’s a Government Agent, he’s wearing a wire. It travels through his collar and into his ear. I’d be careful if I were you.” When did Mom even get to analyse half this stuff? How the… has she been working secretly undercover this entire time?

“How did-“ Mom coughed, and the maid came over and took Mom away. I continued to tend the plants to keep away suspicions, I also managed to receive a Cowplant Berry from Mom as we returned from Granite Falls! So, I planted it inside the ground.

“Grow my little one and become a nice little thing.” I couldn’t wait to grow myself one of these Cowplants!

05-04-11-15_12-33 PM

06-04-11-15_12-33 PM-2

And I then enjoyed a nice little chess game with Alistair after my workout on the treadmill.

“You should do something nice for Mom today.” Alistair scratched his head, and moved his chess piece.

“Why?” He questioned, and I sighed.

“How many times has Mom done something nice for you?” He seemed to have given it a bit of thought as three minutes later (and three movements of chess pieces), he finally had a reply.

“More than I can count!” 

02-04-11-15_11-43 AM

“How many times have you done something nice for Mom?”

There was a silence as Alistair moved his chess piece once again.

“Exactly. Mom has done a lot of things for us and given us a lot of great advice. So tonight, we’re all going to do something nice for her. And it will be amazing!” I suggested. And together we did every little thing Mom asked plus we managed to do everything she wanted for her. As a result, Mom’s heart felt more at ease.

She must be proud to have children like us.


happy mother’s day, americans! 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Wonder Child – Chapter Thirty-Seven – Mother Knows Best

  1. Jes2G says:

    I had to read that part about the maid like 15 times before I realized that he was in the background lol. How observant do you think we are? :-p
    This was cute! Leliana is such a good child–even with her mom’s crazy and nosiness lol. Can’t wait to see what happens next!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a response! :)

