1.28 – Conversations Around The Dining Table

Today was everyone’s favourite day, since Marisa and Nathan got to leave work a bit early and the kids had just come home from school to find their dad cooking for them. Maven ran upstairs to try and find Llamaman and play with him while June and Callum sat down together and did their homework.

“Finished!” Callum closed the homework book and put it back into his bag. June was surprised, but she was more focused on her schoolwork.

“What’s the homework, kids?” Nathan asked from the kitchen area. June looked over at Nathan as she held her pencil.

"It's writing about a person we look up to!"

“It’s writing about a person we look up to!”

“Oh really? That’s interesting! Who did you do, Callum?” Nathan asked his son.

“I did Unicow! He always comes up with the best ideas and he also tucks me in really nicely when I go to bed!” Callum explained and Nathan nodded, and then looked over to June.

“What about you, sweetie?” Nathan smiled.

“Well, it’s been hard because I’m stuck between two people. I can relate more to the one person, but then I love the abilities that the other person has! It’s so hard.” June was caught in a slump, while Nathan thought of the perfect solution.

"You could write about both, if you want."

“You could write about both, if you want.”

“But, my teacher said–“

“Hey! Who’s more important here, me or your teacher?!” Nathan laughed and June actually considered it for a second.

“Joking! Of course, you’re more important Dad.” June said and Nathan nodded his head.

"That's what I like to hear. Now, let me go finish this food."

“That’s what I like to hear. Now, let me go finish this food.”

 Nathan smiled as he returned to his cooking. June finished her homework soon enough and the pair of them decided to head upstairs. Callum had a long conversation with Unicow while June was making things spark from a test tube.

"IT'S SO PRETTY!"

“I guess this is what they mean by sparks fly…”

Meanwhile, Maven had come downstairs and had grabbed a plate of food before sitting down at the dining table with Marisa. The pair of them had been eating their food silently until Maven interrupted Marisa.

“Mom, can I ask you a question?” Maven asked his mother and she nodded her head.

“Go on.” She proceeded, and Maven took a deep breath.

“Have you ever been pressured to do something you don’t want to do?” Maven questioned and Marisa knew her answer straight away.

“Yes.” She replied.

"Like, something super bad?"

“Like, something super bad?”

“You seem awfully jolly for something super bad.” Marisa laughed and Maven smiled.

“I’m a goofball, Mom. I’m usually weird emotions in weird situations. Anyways, these kids at school tried to pressure me into hitting this kid who’s only a couple of days younger than me. Fortunately, I said no! I’m not a bully, and I don’t want to be friends with people who are.” Maven explained and Marisa had never felt happier. Something inside of her told her that she was doing a great job raising these kids, and hopefully when they have kids of their own, the lessons she’s taught them will pass down.

"My sweet boy, you could never be evil!"

“My sweet boy, you could never be evil!”

“Are you sure, Mom?” Maven smiled and Marisa nodded her head slowly.

“Of course, there’s no way my son could be–“

“Did you hear about the incident in my homeroom where the entire floor was covered with full to the brim paper cups?” Maven ask.

“Yeah, they never found the culprit– YOU DID IT?!” Marisa was surprised at this discovery. Her son has been pulling pranks within the school without anyone knowing. Obviously Marisa was angry, but she also was slightly amazed by her son because he hasn’t been caught yet.

“Oh yes, I have a dark side to me.” Maven smiled evilly.

I guess we take it literally?

I guess we can take it literally?

“Don’t worry Mom, as long as I don’t get caught, I should be fine!” Maven explained to his mother, but Marisa laughed.

“As long as? That’s hilarious! You’ll be caught sooner or later, I promise you that!” She exclaimed and Maven shrugged his shoulders.

“Then I’ll say it was fun while it lasted. I mean, I have made everyone laugh which is a huge bonus.” Maven smiled and Marisa did too. As long as his pranks didn’t hurt anyone, she was completely fine with it.

07-22-15_9-19 PM-4

“This food tastes really good.” Maven commented as he took another bite of his food, and Marisa agreed as she took a bite too.

“I wonder what my other two siblings are doing.” Maven looked around the room only to find Callum sat over at the sofa in his pajamas watching Bunny Farm. “He’s such a kid.”

“And so are you! Well, you’ll be a teenager in how many days now?”

“Five, mom! I can’t wait.” Maven was getting excited for his up and coming birthday. He couldn’t wait to leap into the teenage years, find someone and marry them as soon as he turns into a young adult. He also couldn’t wait because he’d finally be allowed to use an easel.

"Delicious!"

“Delicious!”

Callum’s addiction to Bunny Farm was growing by the day. He watched it every day like clockwork and never ever missed an episode. Although, Marisa and Nathan knew that Callum would soon grow out of it due to his teenage birthday coming up and that’s when all the hormones start to kick in.

“Unicow looks awesome in this episode!” Callum said with joy as he watched the show.

07-22-15_9-20 PM-2

However, the evil hotdog man soon showed up on the screen, dancing the Bunny Farm dance and clearly, Callum was not impressed.

“BOO! GO AWAY MR HOTDOG MAN. YOU’RE SUCH A PLUM–“ As soon as he said the word ‘Plum’, Callum went dead silent. He hoped that his mother hadn’t heard him swear and he hoped that nothing would happen to him. Still, that doesn’t mean he likes Mr Hotdog Man.

I can see why Callum hates him.

I can see why Callum hates him.

Back at the dining table, Nathan had joined Marisa and Maven’s conversation. It had now shifted from pranks to birthdays to the current topic of the legacy. Obviously, Maven wasn’t the heir to the legacy, but he still felt that he needed to contribute somehow, being the oldest of the three children.

“Mom, Dad. When I master my painting skills, would you allow me to paint a portrait of you? As a kind of memorialization? Mom can easily write a biography about you and herself and we’ll place it under the portraits. Oh! And maybe Callum can take some nice photos of the two of you so that we have something to keep as well. I think it’d be nice to build an area dedicated to you.” Maven thought of all sorts of ideas in his head.

"I don't see any problems with that!"

“I don’t see any problems with that!”

“I do! Where’s it going to go?” Nathan asked and Marisa turned to Nathan and smiled.

“Well, we do have the power to have a basement. Two levels below actually! I say, we make the first level collectibles and then the level below that dedicated to memorializations. I think it’ll be perfect. What do you think, honey?” Marisa suggested to Nathan and after thinking about it, he came to a conclusion.

“Okay! But, we won’t be able to have it for some time, so let’s gather the memorializations first and then build the area. Agreed?” Nathan said.

"Agreed!"

“Agreed!”

As Nathan took more and more bites of his food, he realised that if you want an amazing meal, every ingredient has to be perfect. He related that to the legacy. If you want an amazing legacy, every person, item, and event has to be amazing and unforgettable. Although, he knew that in the future there was going to be problems, and he wasn’t sure if June was actually ready to be the heir.

Nathan was scared, that all his efforts and all of the work he put into this legacy would turn into nothing in the future.

"This food does taste good!"

“This food does taste good!”

7 thoughts on “1.28 – Conversations Around The Dining Table

  1. rorygilmore34 says:

    I love that Marisa was okay with the pranks that were being pulled! 🙂 I was wondering how she was going to handle that. Also, I loved the shot of June working with her chemistry set. You have such a talent for capturing just the right shot! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cathytea says:

    Evil hotdog man? Does that have anything to do with The Tragic Clown?

    And this: “I’m usually weird emotions in weird situations.” Gosh, I loved reading that. I’m goofball, and so that totally sums up me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a response! :)

