Y1 – Another Casual Day

I guess, waking up on your birthday but also your last day can give you all sorts of emotions. I was feeling joyful, sad and energized all rolled into one, and I couldn’t even think about what today was going to entail. I had a feeling that today was going to be an awesome day, whether I had to make the day awesome myself or it was already going to be awesome.

I didn’t even bother with getting changed into my everyday wear as I walked down the stairs, I wanted my breakfast because I was starving and also, it was 5:45am, so I didn’t think anyone would be up yet. And, as usual, I was wrong.

“Oh, hi Noah!” I heard Adelaide say to me on the stairs before turning her head away, seeing me in my pajamas.

09-06-15_4-05 PM

“Adelaide, it’s fine to look at me! You’ve seen me with my shirt off, so I don’t think my pajamas make a difference.” I smiled and she turned her head to face me.

“I guess you’re right. Oh, by the way, Piper is up.” Adelaide mentioned as she walked past me on the stairs. I shrugged my shoulders as I got my breakfast and got changed into my everyday clothes before heading into Piper’s bedroom. Actually, I knocked beforehand since she got mad at me for not knocking the last time.

“Oh, you’re here.” Piper sighed as she finished packing her suitcase. I sat down on the bed with her and pulled her face into a smile. “HEY!”

09-06-15_4-12 PM

“What? It worked, didn’t it?” I laughed, and she realised that she was actually smiling.

“It did… thanks.”

“No problem, it’s what I’m here for!”

“Gee, I can’t believe that the year is over now.” Piper looked down onto the floor as she stood up, and I walked over to her again.

“Yeah, I’m going to miss everyone for the six to seven weeks we have off. It’ll feel like an eternity!” I took Piper’s hand with both of my hands, and she almost felt a bit… I can’t describe it but she looked very shocked.

09-06-15_4-15 PM

“Was that a bit–“ I tried to say but Piper already launched herself into hugging me, which took me completely by surprise.

“Just. Don’t forget about me while we’re home for the summer, okay?”

“Okay.” I smiled as I tightened my hug with Piper.

09-06-15_4-17 PM

“Now, you should probably be wanting to go and say goodbye to other people now, right?” Piper smiled as she opened the path to the door.

“Nope, I already said my goodbyes, you were last.” I teased.

“Really?” Piper said, looking hurt and I laughed.

“Kidding! You were first, as always.” I smiled as I slapped her wrist lightly.

“Hahaha! Do that again and you’ll die.” Piper laughed as well as she smiled brightly towards me. Her smile is something I won’t forget while I’m gone.

09-06-15_4-20 PM

I made my way to Neil next, who was busy tending our garden. This boy, he’s always still learning and trying his best and I could never fault him for that. Even though I’ll see him soon, being away from him is just something I could never think about. He’s like a brother to me, and I’m sure I’m the same way to him.

“Noah! I just finished watering the plants, I think I’m going to get to weeding next.” Neil smiled as he put down the watering can.

“Shut up and hug me, man!” I shouted as I embraced Neil, with all my manly-broness. Okay, maybe there was a hint of love in there too.

09-06-15_4-26 PM

“I’m going to miss you.” I whispered to Neil in our hug, and he nodded his head in agreement. We let go soon after and we both shared a bit of mutual laughter.

“What’re you getting up to this Summer?” I asked Neil and he tapped his chin in thought, before coming up with an answer.

“Well, my brothers are probably heart-broken with losing their bachelorette and so I’ll probably be spending half the Summer comforting them but then I’ll probably be looking up fun things for us to do when we get back.” Neil explained, “How about you?”

09-06-15_4-29 PM

“Well, I’ll probably be relaxing all Summer while studying Wellness slowly to catch up with the Second Year course. Maybe I’ll go meditating on a mountain or something.” I shrugged my shoulder and then Neil clicked his fingers.

“That actually doesn’t sound like a bad idea. You could totally do it!” 

“Really? I never thought about it, but maybe.”

“Promise me one thing though.” Neil said, holding out his pinky.

“You still do that? Okay, what?”

“We have to meet up over the Summer!”

“Okay!” I laughed, taking his pinky and sealing the promise. I definitely wanted to see Neil over the Summer, even if it meant crossing the ocean or flying in the sky.

09-06-15_4-29 PM-2

Adelaide was my final stop, she was in the kitchen waiting for me since we were going to share the last bit of the cake together. I walked into the kitchen and sat down at the bar stool, and Adelaide came into the room soon after, sporting a mischievous expression on her face which made me instantly think what she was up to.

“What have you done?” I laughed as I drew in closer, Adelaide meanwhile, had her head turned and was looking out towards the main hallway.

09-06-15_4-42 PM

“So, what are you getting up to this summer, Adelaide?” I asked her as she turned her head back around to face me.

“I think I’m going to take a holiday somewhere, paint a few portraits, pictures. You know, capture the perfect image.” Adelaide replied as she nodded her head to herself.

“That sounds really awesome, I can’t wait to see you when we get back after the holidays.”

“When Summer Falls?” Adelaide winked.

“Yeah.” I laughed, and she joined in too.

09-06-15_4-45 PM

After washing the plates of the remaining cake that we shared, we shared a hug too!

09-06-15_4-46 PM

Suddenly, my phone began to ring and vibrate and so I quickly answered it.

“Hello?”

“Hi Noah. It’s Dad.” Oh great. I forced a smile upon my face as his deep husky voice continued. “How are you?”

“I’m feeling alright, I’m just in the kitchen at the moment. How’re you?”

“I’m good! I’m just preparing to leave with your mother.” Yeah, I can hear her nagging in the background. “Happy Birthday, by the way.”

“Thanks. I only turn 19 once in a lifetime, haha!” I laughed and Adelaide and Piper immediately noticed what I had just said. SHOOT.

09-06-15_4-50 PM

“Birthday?” Adelaide asked as I continued to talk on the phone.

“Who’s that? Is that a friend? Can I speak with them?” Dad asked and I immediately hung up the phone. The last time Dad spoke with one of my friends, they never spoke to me again. I sighed as I placed my phone in my pocket and stretched out my arms.

“It’s your birthday today?” Adelaide asked me and I nodded.

“Yeah, but sh. I don’t really want to have it overshadow today.” I smiled as I continued to discuss things with Adelaide.

09-06-15_4-50 PM-2

Soon, I left the kitchen to see Gabrielle walking right up to me.

“HEY YOU!” Gabrielle shouted to me, and I walked right up to her.

“What’s up?”

“I have orders from Dean Cavanaugh to give to you.” Gabrielle giggled slightly as she adjusted herself into a mini pose before speaking out her request.

09-06-15_4-54 PM

“Go get changed into something formal! We’re having a celebration for the end of the year!” Gabrielle ordered and I laughed.

“Like Brad said in Lookout: Willow Creek Edition…” I started before adjusting myself into a familiar pose that Gabrielle would recognise from the show. I’m going to miss mine and Gabrielle’s ranting sessions over the latest season which takes place in Oasis Springs.

09-06-15_4-54 PM-2

“How could I deny something so fly?” I laughed as I ran upstairs and searched my suitcases for the suit I had been keeping in there all year. I never really had a chance to wear it until now, and I thought it would be best to wear it today since you know, it’s an occasion worth wearing a suit for.

I have to admit, I did look pretty handsome in my suit.

09-06-15_4-59 PM

When I walked into the kitchen however, I was immediately greeted with something unexpected.

“SURPRISE!” I heard everyone say left right and center. I finally realised that everyone had thrown a surprise birthday party for me and I couldn’t believe that they had the time to put this together under short notice.

“Oh, Piper stole your phone and found out earlier.” Adelaide laughed as Piper stood on her foot.

“Shh! He wasn’t supposed to find out!” I really should change my passcode sooner or later.

09-06-15_4-59 PM-2

Even Sasha Rapp made it, and she even got to making a few concoctions!

09-06-15_5-01 PM

Dean Cavanaugh made a cake as well, and even put candles on it too!

“Noah, come and sit down and blow out your candles, it’s your birthday!” She beckoned as she called me over to the barstool. Unable to refuse, I made my way over and sat down as everyone surrounded me and smiled.

“Happy Birthday Noah!” Everyone shouted to me.

09-06-15_5-03 PM

However, JUST as everyone was about to sing Happy Birthday and I was going to blow out my candles and turn 19 officially, this happened.

09-06-15_5-05 PM

However, me and bartender lady came to the rescue.

09-06-15_5-06 PM

I wish we could’ve saved the stove and the counter though.

09-06-15_5-07 PM

JUST ANOTHER CASUAL DAY IN THE DORMITORY.

Another Casual Day, how ironic. Poor Sasha Rapp though, I guess electronics and The Hermit don’t mix well together.

“I’ll just be using Grills from now on! No more trying to use those fancy stoves!” She vowed in her burnt fashion. Hey, at least her hair looks revitalised!

09-06-15_5-09 PM

But, nothing stopped me from singing Happy Birthday to myself. I sang it so quickly, just incase anything else should happen.

Happy Birthday to me!
Happy Birthday to me!

Happy Birthday dear Noah!
Happy Birthday to me!

I feel like, the trait that I’ve gained through this year is that I’ve become more self-assured. I feel like I’m confident enough to put myself out there more and give myself more power in situations. It’s safe to say that, I’m feeling fabulous right now.

09-06-15_5-11 PM

Hi! I’m Noah Chung. I’m 19 years old and I study at Briarwick University and I say at the Greenwood Dormitory. I’ve just completed my first year and I’ve had a lot of adventures throughout, but I still have three more years ahead of me and I’m pretty sure there’s going to be more adventures and more fun! With a new student coming here next year, who knows what’ll happen, and who knows what’s to come? All I can say is, I’m looking forward to what the future provides me.

09-06-15_5-16 PM-2

9 thoughts on “Y1 – Another Casual Day

Leave a response! :)

